Underage Driving While Impaired

Underage Driving While Impaired (DWI) is not an issue that should be taken lightly. A negative outcome could have a lasting and detrimental effect on school, the ability to get a job, or other opportunities that should later arise. An attorney that is skilled and experienced in dealing with DWI charges should be consulted.

In the State of Tennessee, a driver can be charged with Underage Driving While Impaired (“DWI”) if they are age 16 or over but under the age of 21. A driver may not drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs, alcohol, any other intoxicant, nor may the alcohol concentration in the person’s blood be more than two-hundredths of one percent (0.02%) which is considerably less than the legal limit (0.08%) for a person over the age of 21. The fact that the driver is entitled to use the drugs under Tennessee law does not constitute a defense.

Driving While Impaired for a person age 16 but under the age of 18 is a delinquent act and is punishable only by a driver's license suspension for one year and a fine of $250. As additional punishment, the court may impose public service work.

Driving While Impaired for a person age 18 but under the age of 21 is a Class A misdemeanor punishable only by a driver's license suspension of one year and a fine of $250. As additional punishment, the court may impose public service work.

Unlike the offense of DUI, you cannot obtain a restricted driver’s license after receiving a license suspension under the penalties of DWI.

If a driver has been charged with Underage Driving While Impaired, or DWI they should seek legal counsel as soon as possible The laws may not be known or understood and an experienced attorney who has dealt with Underage Driving While Impaired or DWI matters will be able to explain the options for defense, present a game-plan for defense and provide the client with frequent progress reports.

The Cave Law Firm, PLLC has been in practice since 1974 and our attorneys are well-versed in Underage Driving While Impaired (DWI) matters. It is not something that should be attempted alone. We serve clients all over East Tennessee and have offices in Greeneville and Kingsport. We frequently represent clients from Greene County, Washington County, Sullivan County, Hamblen County, Hawkins County and more.

When you call The Cave Law Firm, PLLC your initial consultation is free. Our attorneys have the knowledge to handle cases dealing with underage drivers and can fight for an outcome that will not affect school acceptance, or job opportunities in the underage driver’s future. If you are in Greeneville, Kingsport, Morristown, or any part of East Tennessee contact an attorney at The Cave Law Firm, PLLC for your free consultation.

Consultations are also available in Spanish. Do not let Underage Driving While Impaired (DWI) ruin your future. Contact our attorneys today.

Free Initial Consultation
Toll free number